16 - Drop Out (1996)

20 February, 2010

3 comments: Links to this post
16 - Drop Out Album Cover

Second full-length album.

The beastly, throbbing riffs and tortured screams of 16’s now-legendary Drop Out album sent shockwaves through the international music scene upon its ’96 release. It's obvious why over a decade later; the band made visceral anguish, angst, and disillusionment sound downright anthemic. 16 put an ugly, angry face on disenfranchised youth and Drop Out became a touchstone and soundtrack for the next generation of heavy rock trail blazers and trendsetters. - relapse.com

16 - Curves That Kick (1993)

12 February, 2010

No comments: Links to this post
16  - Curves That Kick Album Cover

Debut full-length by Southern California semi-sludge legends 16.

Khanate - Clean Hands Go Foul (2009)

07 February, 2010

2 comments: Links to this post
Khanate - Clean Hands Go Foul Album Cover

Khanate (pronounced "khan-eight") formed in the year 2000 with the intention of setting new standards for pain and ugliness in the doom metal genre. Their songs are marked by dissonant, heavily down-tuned guitar/bass figures, extremely slow tempos, swarms of high-pitched feedback, and painfully shrieked vocals, making for a genuinely anguished and challenging listening experience -- put another way, their music is not for everybody. The quartet is headed up by guitarist Stephen O'Malley (Burning Witch, Thorr's Hammer, Sunn O)))) and bassist James Plotkin (OLD, Atomsmasher, etc.), two musicians whose reputations in the underground metal/experimental arenas precede them and can give listeners an idea of what to expect from the band. Rounding out the lineup are vocalist Alan Dubin (also formerly of OLD) and drummer Tim Wyskida. Khanate released their self-titled debut in the fall of 2001 on Southern Lord Records. ~ William York, All Music Guide